“Jim Morrison used to sit on this case and smoke a joint now and then.” According to Ray Manzarek.

photo 1photo 2photo 3-1

 

IMG_6988-2My latest find. Actually a trade.

A Doors road case from the late 60’s early 70’s.

Vintage, used, thrown across the room, beat up, kicked, dropped and sat on by the Lizard King himself.

What makes this piece way cooler, if that’s even possible, is the letter the Doors keyboardist Ray Manzarek wrote on Doors stationary to accompany it.

I’ve for some strange reason always wanted to add a road case to my collection. You got to figure if they could talk, you’d hear some pretty incredible stories. Touring to me is the lifeblood of a band. Any band worth its salt anyway. These traveling “homes” held and protected some of the band’s most private, personal and treasured possessions. This one stands roughly 24″ tall.

I was watching a recent episode of “American Pickers,”  and the boys picked Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick’s warehouse and walked away with two early road cases. I thought, “Yeah, I  gotta get me one of those.”

They were amazing looking. Beat to pure hell. Stickers everywhere. And I loved them. I researched and found a few other Doors road cases online. These went in auction several years ago. They all match mine in style and graphics perfectly.

lPicture 14

Picture 18

Picture 10

 

I was blessed to have met Ray years ago at a local collectibles show. He was behind a table signing autographs. No one was in line to meet him. I walked up and we talked for some time. He was approachable and very down to earth.

Screen shot 2013-10-01 at 9.12.18 AMhttp://www.johndensmore.com/

John Densmore, drummer and founding member of The Doors is on tour promoting his latest book which can be seen above. If you happen to be in a city he visits, you must go.

John, you need to come to Boston soon.

https://www.facebook.com/johndensmore1

Picture 5

Leave a comment