Rare Vintage Rolling Stones Concert T-Shirts. The Max Bittle Collection.

If you check eBay regularly like I do, a chunk of Stones memorabilia that shows up is concert T-shirts.
Currently if you search for Rolling Stones shirts….you’ll find about 10,382, give or take.

Now not all are vintage, but look at the top hit, starting with the most expensive. $14,000.

Yup.

Now will it sell? Hmmm, you decide.

It just goes to show you collecting rare vintage Stones t-shirts isn’t for anyone looking for a bargain.

I suggest Goodwill. Maybe you’ll get lucky.

Check out the collection of Max Bittle. Photographer by day, insane Rolling Stones t-shirt collector by night.

Here’s a little bio written by Max.

The collection of vintage shirts started a few years back. I’m 28 and have a deep love for music that was mostly recorded before my time. The thing I really dig about vintage swag is that it’s a connection to an era of rock n roll that I have great affection for. I didn’t get to experience a show at the Fillmore East, Woodstock, or The Rolling Stones iconic ’72 tour, but I do have original shirts from all of them. That’s about as close as I can get.
I love wearing the tees and thinking about all the great performances that they saw. Whether it be Hendrix playing the Star Spangled Banner at Woodstock or Mick Taylor shredding through any of his wonderful solos in ’72, those shirts were there. Every shirt has an amazing history all it’s own and I love the stories that accompany them.Most shirts that I’m interested are very hard to come by. It wasn’t until the mid to late 70s that bands really started to capitalize on merchandise. Shirts made prior to that we’re either staff shirts, record company promos, fan club shirts, or ones made specially for the band. Very few were made and sold at the shows.

Since the Stones are my favorite band, I naturally gravitated to focusing my collection on them. I’ve been able to acquire a good amount their earlier shirts. It’s very rare though for me to have the opportunity to get something truly interesting and unique, but I’m always keeping an eye out. There are some amazing Exile era shirts that were made for the band’s “inner circle” that I’m especially interested in. The stuff is similar to Taylor’s stage outfits in ’72. I know a lot of shirts have been wore out and thrown away years ago. But, I also know that a lot were saved and are still out there just waiting to be unearthed and enjoyed again.
Anyone is welcome to contact me with questions, comments, or leads too. Feel free to post my email if you would like.
Max Bittle | Freelance Photographer  maxbittlephotography@gmail.com

IMG_1292 IMG_1293   stones-18 stones-19 image image_1 image_10 image_11 image_12 image_13 image_14 image_15 image_16    image_2  image_21 image_3  image_5 image_6 image_7 image_8 image_9

stones-75-crew-1 stones-75-crew-2 stones-leeds stones-memphis-75 stones-wembley-82

Leave a comment