Selling or trading things you swore would die with you, to buy other stuff you swear will die with you.

With us crazy collectors the hunt for “stuff” is never over.

IMG_3347

With me while I can say, ” Yeah I’ve been looking for one of these or one of those for years.” I find it’s more about what’s out there that I don’t know about. What I have never seen before and don’t even know exists. That’s the thrilling and exciting part of the hunt for me. Finding stuff and being offered pieces that I’ve never seen.

Over the years my collection has evolved and changed dozens of times. I’ve sold or traded things I swore would be buried with me. Something comes along that blows me away, something I’ve never seen or heard of before and BOOM,  out comes the bubble wrap and peanuts, I’m packing up that prized will never see or own again possession and heading to Fed Ex or the post office.

Just like that.

IMG_8743*I just traded these pants belonging to Mick Jagger and given to Gram Parsons.

I guess this is what gives me that high. That buzz.

No more than two years ago I didn’t own a single Doors, Ringo, GNR item. Despite my love for all those bands and artists. Now I have dozens of rare and never seen before items that I never thought I’d ever be lucky enough to own.

I’m curious to hear from other collectors of high end RnR memorabilia if they ever have regrets selling off items they love for other items they love as much. Do your taste change? Does it evolve over the years? Have you ever woken up one morning and said, “I need to start collecting ___________.”

Here are a few items and categories and specific items I’d love to add to my collection.

There not necessarily crazy expensive and may not even be all that rare or hard to find. But I’d love to add them to my collection.

Contact me if you have things like this and need to own something else.

Peace & Love,

Gary Rocks.

Ringo-Rory Storm era items.

Screen shot 2015-01-27 at 11.38.22 AM 22_large_1 22_large_2_2 22_large_3 22_large_2Above are all early Rory Storm gig flyers. They do show up on occasion. I own a few as well as some early posters and photos of Ringo while he played with Rory. The more expensive ones are the versions where they played on the same bill as The Beatles.

The posters are very hard to find.

B23645large IMG_7699 Screen shot 2015-06-20 at 12.35.38 PMRingo All-Starr Band and Solo Artist items.

IMG_0960 IMG_0961Screen shot 2015-01-17 at 3.11.58 PMScreen shot 2015-01-17 at 3.12.15 PM Screen shot 2015-01-17 at 3.12.46 PMThe Doors.

Mu current obsession. Still can’t find an affordable Jim signed item.

IMG_4876 IMG_4877 IMG_4308The Doors Gold Records. These were available some time ago and I didn’t have the funds to jump on any of them. Fuck.

IMG_6592While the above poster isn’t all that super rare, but I’d love to own it.

The Rolling Stones.

ANYTHING KEITH!!! XPENSIVE WINOS, MAIN OFFENDER, TALK IS CHEAP, SOLO ITEMS, SET LISTS, STAGE WORN CLOTHING, GEAR, ROAD CASES……

More stuff like this.

IMG_2738

And this.

IMG_2740 IMG_2742

I need this.

Keith-Richards-Main-Offender---F-438802 438802bOkay now The Stones. This is kind of a tough one. I’ve owned some of the rarest Stones stuff there is and sold and traded a lot of it over the years, the piece above in the last few weeks.

Why would I trade rare stuff  I own to buy other rare stuff I don’t own. If you can figure it out, tell me. I like to collect eras. Period of a band I connect with. An album, concert or tour. Aside from owning some very early 60’s signed pieces, I then my collection jumps to the “Sticky Fingers” and “Exile on Main Street” period, then on to “Tattoo You.” No “Some Girls,” “Love you Live,” nothing very recent except for Keith items.

stickyzipperweb

72passesweb 72shirttowelitinwebPhotos courtesy of Ira Korman.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

