“Welcome To My Jungle.” Some rare Guns N’ Roses memorabilia.

I’ve been fortunate in my years in advertising to have met some pretty cool people.

Like say, Slash for instance.
I’ve always been a HUGE Guns N’ Roses and Slash fan.
Their critically acclaimed debut album “Appetite for Destruction” is still one of my top five favorite rock albums.
Most if not all critics agree it set the bar for heavy metal rock in the 80’s.

I just finished up a TV campaign for the L.A. Zoo promoting a new exhibit called The Lair in which Slash and the venerable wise cracking octogenarian, Betty White starred.
We shot 5 different TV spots over the course of a day at the zoo.
They were both a joy to work with.

And Slash is the real deal.
The rock icon you would expect him to be.
But down to earth and soft spoken.
A true gentleman.

I was completely beside myself.

I happened to have a few rare GNR items in my collection, one I brought along to the TV shoot to have Slash sign for me.
An original ticket and flyer, circa 80’s, from one of their gigs at the famed Troubadour in West Hollywood.
The band’s stomping ground and where they played several of their most memorable performances.

Here are a few pictures from the shoot, as well as some other rare items from my collection.

IMG_1200

I met Slash again at the After Show in Boston at the House of Blues.

IMG_1189 IMG_1198

IMG_5187

IMG_7088

Picture 4

Picture 9

IMG_5391 IMG_5392IMG_1682   kslterry

IMG_1681 IMG_1680 070518_SayrevilleNJ_JoeL_14 070518_SayrevilleNJ_JoeL_17 Screen shot 2013-03-04 at 3.36.36 PMSANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA imageSANYO DIGITAL CAMERA Picture 2 Guns and Roses on 7/19/88 in Chicago, Il. (Paul Natkin/Image Direct) IMG_1348Picture 10 Picture 5 SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAPicture 1 Picture 2 Picture 5 Picture 9 image_23 IMG_0960 IMG_1206 IMG_0176 IMG_0174

One comment

Leave a Reply

